• Saturday, July 2, 2022

Committees

At Large Members

 

Highlights and News:
 Report from Richard Warner, 16th Circuit ALM - 
 Participants enjoying RPPTL sponsored dinners prepared by the Island Fish Company Grill in Marathon.
 Our ALM-RPPTL sponsored 16th Circ Case Management Conference on May 12 saw 8 attendees, with 6 from our 16th Circ court system who all enjoyed the highly spirited two hour gathering in Marathon. The ALMs, R.E. Warner and Joe George, served as moderators. 

The six county court system attendees came well prepared having quite evidently prepped the agenda and brought their many experiences and knowledge to the meeting. See the email message below from the Director of Case Managers.

The two hours flew by covering all eleven agenda items and much more. The moderators learned as much as the attendees. 

The courts, the JAs and others heard much about this and our agenda is making its way around the 16th Circuit court system. --- So it all went well, and we will be adding a Clerk of Court Liaison at our August meeting. This is because so much of the discussions focused on court clerk-impacted matters.

In short, the gang had a mind-slamming event much like the CLEs we have done over the years, but their open forum participation was as much a part of the education as any of it. Joe George and I were pleased at how really bright and practical our court workers are.


Final Report of the Special Committee to Improve the Delivery of Legal Services

 ALMs Assist Miami-Dade Crestivew Towers Residents

 
 
CLE - "Making the Law" The Top Florida Real Estate & Probate DCA Decisions of 2021

 ALM's Responsibilities:

At-Large Members (ALMs) are elected to the Executive Council as representatives of the Section’s members. In addition to working on Section projects, the ALMs serve as the channel of communication between the Section leadership and the members. The ALMs represent the Section throughout the State, participate on the Section’s committees, keep current on issues of concern to the members, and communicate regularly with the members. It is through the ALMs that the work of the RPPTL Executive Council is disseminated to the entire Real Property Probate & Trust Law Section (RPPTL) members. The work of the ALMs is key to the success of the RPPTL Section, the largest and most successful section of the Florida Bar with over 11,000 members.

Becoming an ALM:

If you are interested in learning more about the important work of the ALMs or in applying to become an ALM, please e-mail the Director, Steven H. Mezer at smezer@beckerlawyers.com for additional information.

The Specific Responsibilities of the At-Large Members



CURRENT PROJECTS:

Certified Mediator Listing
 
Diversity Events
 
Florida Customary Practice - Commercial Transactions
 
Guardianship Advocacy Project
 
Law School Initiative
 
Law School Outreach 
 
Membership & Inclusion Committee 
 
Mentoring
 
New Attendee Welcome Reception
 
New Florida Bar Member Initiative
 
New RPPTL Member Initiative 
 
 
Out of State Representatives
 
Political Ties
 
Probate Ethics Orders Update
 
Publications
Actionline
Florida Bar Journal 
 
Website Update 

 UPCOMING EVENTS AND MEETINGS:

The ALM’s meetings are held in conjunction with the RPPTL Executive Council Meetings and the various committee meetings. The meetings are usually the day before the Executive Council Meeting.

 Executive Council Meetings

November 3-November 7, 2021

Executive Council Meeting

Luminary Hotel & Co.

Fort Myers FL

Standard Guest Room Rate (King): $209.00

March 2-March 6, 2022

Out of State Executive Council Meeting

Hotel Bennett

Charleston, South Carolina

Standard Guest Room Rate: $429.00

March 30-April 2, 2022

Executive Council Meeting

AC Hotel by Marriott Tallahassee (Contract Pending)

Tallahassee, Florida

Standard Guest Room Rate: $179.00

June 1-June 5, 2022

Executive Council Meeting & Annual Convention

Hawks Cay Resort

Duck Key, Florida

Standard Guest Room Rate: $249.00

Two Bedroom Villa Rate: $299.00

 Circuit Meetings: 
 
 

LEADERSHIP AND CURRENT LEAD ALMs FOR EACH CIRCUIT:

Director: Steven H. Mezer

smezer@beckerlawyers.com

1st Circuit: Colleen C. Sachs

csachs@thefund.com

(Escambia Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton)

2nd Circuit: Temporarily Vacant
(Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty, Wakulla)

3rd Circuit (also 8th Circuit): Richard M. White, Jr.
rmw@gate.net

(Columbia, Dixie, Hamilton, Lafayette, Madison, Suwannee, Taylor)

4th Circuit: Jason Van Lenten
jvanlenten@gunster.com

(Clay, Duval, Nassau)

5th Circuit: Arlene C. Udick
arlene@udicklaw.com

(Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Marion, Sumter)

6th Circuit: Rebecca C. Bell
rebecca@delzercoulter.com

(Pasco and Pinellas)

7th Circuit: Christene Ertl
cme@ansbacher.net

(St. Johns, Volusia, Flagler and Putnam)

8th Circuit (also 3rd Circuit): Richard M. White, Jr.
rmw@gate.net

(Alachua, Baker, Bradford, Gilchrist, Levy and Union)

9th Circuit: Alex H. Hamrick
alex.hamrick@jpmorgan.com

Assistant Lead: Kristine L. Tucker

Kristine@barlaw.com

(Orange and Osceola)

10th Circuit: Sandra G. Sheets
sandra.sheets@gray-robinson.com

(Hardee, Highlands and Polk)

11th Circuit (also 16th Circuit): Stuart H. Altman
saltman@fowler-white.com

Assistant Lead: Hung Nguyen

(Miami-Dade)

12th Circuit: Erin H. Christy

echristy@shumaker.com

(DeSoto, Manatee and Sarasota)

13th Circuit: Johnathan L. Butler
Johnathan.l.butler@wellsfargo.com

Assistant Lead: Amber Ashton

aashton@oldrepublictitle.com

(Hillsborough)

14th Circuit: Temporarily Vacant

(Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson and Washington)

15th Circuit: Robert M. Schwartz
Bob@RobertSchwartzPA.Com

Assistant Lead: Eamonn Gunther

egunther@dglaw.pro

(Palm Beach)

16th Circuit (also 11th Circuit): Stuart H. Altman
saltman@fowler-white.com

(Monroe)

17th Circuit: Alexandra V. Rieman

alex@gapattorneys.com

(Broward)

18th Circuit: Stephen Paul Heuston
heuston.legal@heustonlegal.com

(Brevard and Seminole)

19th Circuit: Jane L. Cornett
jcornett@beckerlawyers.com

(Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie)

20th Circuit: Alan Stephen Kotler
skotler@kotlerpl.com

(Charlotte, Collier, Glades, Hendry and Lee)

Out of State Rep: Nicole Kibert Basler
nicole.kibert@gmail.com

ALMs Committee Liaisons 2021-2022